beginnings


“And suddenly you know:

It’s time to start something new and

trust the magic of beginnings.”

Messier Eckhart 


I’m Gia and I’m pretty happy about it. I was born in Kalra, a small farming village in Punjab, India to a Sikh family. We moved to America when I was two years old. I’ve lived and grown up in the cradle of the ocean and shadow of the mountains and embrace of the forest in Everett, WA pretty much my whole 25 years of existence, except for my brief stints abroad in Rome and London. I graduated from The University of Washington with a Bachelors in English in 2014. I am the first in my immediate family to graduate from college. It’s pretty awesomesauce.

Movies, stand-up, music, podcasts, books, and current events are basically oxygen to me. I love compiling a mental database of fun facts to whip out at will to share with friends and strangers and make people think, smile, or become complicit in minor crimes. Wait no, scratch that last part. Basically, I just like knowing things. Did you know that a blue whale’s tongue weighs 8,000 lbs? That’s as much as one male African elephant! That’s bonkers! I’m pretty much just a big five year old that is constantly blown away by this world and I just have to tell people about it. Whether they like it or not. But honestly, they usually do. Cause people like stories and I like hearing theirs. Not all the things I learn are pleasant, though. But I want to know this world just as it is. And I can’t do it alone. So let’s share some stories – get to know each other, maybe understand the world better, maybe try to fix it. And have some rum. There must always be ample rum.

Hey I’m Anu. Not AnNA, not UhNuh, not HEY YOUUUUU. All of which I’ve been called by substitute teachers to strangers to longtime friends who I’ve just never corrected (LOOK HERE GUYS THIS IS HOW IT’S PRONOUNCED! I still love you, though.)  It’s pronounced Uh-Nu (uh-huh). Ya dig.

I’m a Washington native and like to say I’m from Seattle because few know of the small, often weird place that is Everett. Though for technical purposes I am from Everett (represent). Briefly, though, I spent 5 of my years actually living in Seattle attending the University of Washington after which I picked up a job at the Courthouse. It was pretty neat but I think I enjoyed Seattle more when it was kept at a distant like a shiny snow globe that looks perfect and beautiful, minus the snow.

For a year I also spent some time in Japan giving teaching a go, which I truly loved. My inspiration comes from travel which has given my mom a good few heart attacks. “Anu, where are you?” “Oh, Mom, I decided to take this trip to Prague because you know I felt like getting on a plane and blowing my savings.” “…” The world is a beautiful, frightening place and I want to explore every inch.

I love a lot of things when I’m not taking most of my time criticizing everything else. Ice cream and goats for example will be a constant love, as well as my love of books (seriously if you find yourself hating a lot around you get a book to get lost in another world — if you’re lucky you can just always live vicariously through them and, no, no one will think you’re crazy…)

I am extremely excited to be working on this project with Gia. It’s been a long time coming. I feel like I’ve spent most of my time lost, not realizing the impact of being a first generation Indian American has had on me. I’ve always known it was weird especially when kids would give me dirty looks for bringing curry to elementary school (haters). Or when people would ask if they could get slurpees from my family’s 7/11 after which I felt betrayed because my family had never told me about no 7/11 and where were my free slurpees?! But, in all seriousness, it’s taken me a long time to realize that the weird feeling wasn’t weird at all and deserves some exploring. Especially after my recent trip to India where I had the privilege to talk to a lot of my family in my village, I got to thinking more and more.

To best put what this project means to me, a good friend of mine shared this beautiful quote by Rainer Marie Rilke:

“Be patient toward all that is unsolved in your heart and try to love the questions themselves, like locked rooms and like books that are now written in a very foreign tongue. Do not now seek the answers, which cannot be given to you because you would not be able to live them. And the point is, to live everything. Live the questions now. Perhaps you will then gradually, without noticing it, live along some distant day into the answer.”

Okay Google, let’s do this.

Much love. ❤

One comment

Leave a Reply

